ThunderPhone vs. Plivo Voice AI: pricing, telephony, and what each headline rate includes
ThunderPhone and Plivo Voice AI both publish usage-based agent pricing. Neither headline rate includes telephony. Plivo also operates the carrier service and supplies phone numbers, bringing telephony and an agent under one vendor.
Decision summary: Choose Plivo when consolidating carrier and agent operations matters most. Consider ThunderPhone when its complete engine pricing, testing workflows, and choice of SIP carrier fit your needs. Spark has the lower headline rate. The pricing page describes Spark as "Somewhat slower latency, but acceptable for most use cases." ThunderPhone pricing. Test the actual conversation before choosing on price.
Existing Plivo customers can keep their numbers and connect them to ThunderPhone through manual SIP configuration. This comparison therefore includes that combination, alongside buying both services from Plivo.
At-a-glance comparison
| Dimension | ThunderPhone | Plivo Voice AI | Qualification and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Prepaid pay as you go. Spark 2¢/min, Bolt 5¢/min, Storm 9¢/min. | Pay as you go; agent rate $0.03/min excluding telephony. | Compare configured bills. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| What's included per minute | Speech recognition, language model, and voice. Telephony and optional add-ons are separate. | Voice models, transcription, and orchestration. LLM inclusion is unconfirmed. | The fetched wording does not explicitly name an LLM. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Platform fees | No subscription, seat, or platform fee. | No separate mandatory PAYG platform fee stated in the fetched block. Enterprise starts at $1,000/month. | Enterprise pricing is not a mandatory PAYG charge. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Telephony | BYO number through SIP; Plivo supported through manual SIP. No ThunderPhone import or monthly charge for imported numbers. | Carrier with its own numbers and separately billed call usage. US local number rental is $0.50/month. | The carrier still bills ThunderPhone users. Plivo US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Billing increments | Quarter-minute increments; 0.25-minute minimum. | Telephony has a 60-second minimum and 1-minute increments. Agent-minute rounding is unconfirmed. | Do not extend the telephony rule to the agent rate. Plivo call documentation, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Languages | 47 languages, 123 voices; 15 languages included and 32 premium. | Language count: not stated in the fetched pages. | No defensible language-count ranking is possible from this evidence. |
| Compliance | GDPR and HIPAA compliant; no published compliance add-on fee. SOC 2 is not claimed. | Not assessed here. | The fetched Plivo material does not establish a compliance comparison. |
| Testing / monitoring | Browser mic tests, simulations, regression gates, CI execution, and live-traffic A/B experiments. | Simulation Testing is listed as included. Monitoring details are not assessed here. | Inclusion does not establish equivalent testing depth. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
How pricing actually compares
Use 2,000 calls × 5 connected minutes = 10,000 connected minutes/month. Assume one primary included language, one US local phone number, and no more than 10 concurrent calls. Exclude transfers, hold, voicemail, and optional add-ons. This is illustrative planning arithmetic, not a quote.
The priced carrier scenario is US local inbound traffic. Assume each call lasts exactly the stated duration; an average alone cannot establish rounded carrier usage. Plivo's AI concurrency ceiling is not stated in the fetched pages, so capacity still needs confirmation.
Published inputs
| Component | Rate | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| ThunderPhone Spark engine | $0.02/min | ThunderPhone pricing. |
| Plivo Voice AI | $0.03/min | Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Plivo US local inbound | $0.0055/min | Plivo US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Plivo Browser SDK and SIP calls | $0.0033/min | Plivo US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
| Plivo US local number | $0.50/month | Plivo US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. |
Monthly arithmetic for the three configurations
| Configuration | Agent or engine | Telephony and number | Monthly planning result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plivo Voice AI + Plivo telephony | 10,000 × $0.03 = $300 | 10,000 × $0.0055 + $0.50 = $55.50 | $355.50 known-component subtotal; LLM inclusion unconfirmed. |
| ThunderPhone Spark + Plivo telephony via SIP | 10,000 × $0.02 = $200 | Local inbound and number: $55.50. If an additional SIP leg bills: 10,000 × $0.0033 = $33. | $255.50 before any additional SIP leg; $288.50 if that leg is charged for all minutes. Exact routed total unconfirmed. |
| ThunderPhone Spark with setup-dependent telephony unpriced | 10,000 × $0.02 = $200 | Carrier usage, routing, and number rental unpriced. | $200 + setup-dependent telephony; complete total not computable. |
Plivo inputs come from agent pricing and US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10. Totals are arithmetic from those inputs and ThunderPhone's published Spark rate.
The SIP row is conditional because the fetched pages list rates without establishing the exact billable legs for this ThunderPhone connection. Confirm whether local inbound and SIP charges stack for the chosen route. Neither the pre-SIP subtotal nor the conditional total is a verified deployment quote.
Likewise, Plivo's known-component subtotal is not a confirmed complete agent bill. Its pricing names voice models, transcription, and orchestration, but does not explicitly settle LLM inclusion. No extra LLM amount is computable from the fetched page.
For the underlying carrier breakdown, see Plivo Voice AI pricing. Compare other published configurations in the voice AI price index.
Product differences that change the decision
Engine inclusions and platform fees
ThunderPhone explicitly includes speech recognition, the language model, and voice in each engine rate. The builder shows the configured rate before launch. Imported-number carrier charges remain separate.
Plivo includes orchestration, transcription, and voice models, plus its builder, knowledge base, human transfer, and simulation features. That makes it more than a bare carrier connection. Confirm the LLM billing treatment before treating its agent rate as a complete AI stack. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10.
ThunderPhone has no subscription, seat, or platform fee. Plivo's fetched PAYG block does not state a separate mandatory platform fee. Its enterprise starting price should not be added to this PAYG example.
Telephony ownership and rounding
Plivo is a mature communications platform as a service, or CPaaS, with carrier and agent products. Keeping both with Plivo can simplify vendor coordination. Its separate telephony billing still matters when comparing headline rates. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10.
ThunderPhone lets you retain Plivo as the number provider while changing the agent platform. Follow the Plivo integration guide, then validate routing and carrier charges before moving traffic.
Plivo documents 60-second telephony rounding. ThunderPhone's finer engine metering does not change that carrier rule when you keep Plivo telephony. Real call-duration distributions can therefore change the bill even when connected minutes match this example. Plivo call documentation, accessed 2026-09-10.
Language and engine choices
ThunderPhone supports mid-call switching when additional languages are configured. Its premium voice or language path can add up to 3¢/minute, non-stacking. At the example workload, that adds up to $300 to the engine bill.
Plivo's language count is not stated in the fetched pages. Confirm the actual language and voice combination rather than inferring coverage from the product category.
The pricing page describes Spark as "Somewhat slower latency, but acceptable for most use cases." ThunderPhone pricing. Its lower price does not establish equivalent conversation performance. Evaluate turn-taking, pronunciation, and task completion on representative calls before choosing an engine. See ThunderPhone pricing explained for configuration costs.
Compliance and testing
ThunderPhone is GDPR and HIPAA compliant; its published pricing lists no compliance add-on fee. SOC 2 is not claimed. Customers remain responsible for configuring their workflows, data handling, recordings, and notices for their own obligations. BAA and DPA are available.
Plivo compliance is not assessed here. The fetched evidence does not support a vendor compliance ranking or a conclusion that Plivo lacks particular protections.
ThunderPhone's testing includes browser mic tests, AI-caller simulations, bot-to-bot and SIP-loopback calls, regression suites with pass-rate gates, and CI execution. Live-traffic A/B experiments support ongoing comparisons. Simulations are billable real calls.
Plivo lists Simulation Testing as included. The fetched pages do not establish equivalent regression gates, CI execution, live experimentation, or monitoring scope. Those capabilities remain unverified here, rather than presumed absent. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10.
Who should choose which
Choose Plivo when you value an agent and carrier from the same vendor, already operate Plivo telephony, and prefer that purchasing relationship. Its included builder, knowledge base, transfer, and simulation features merit evaluation alongside price.
Choose ThunderPhone when explicit engine inclusions, carrier choice, and regression or live-experiment workflows fit your operating model. Spark suits a price-focused evaluation if it meets your conversation requirements. The pricing page describes Spark as "Somewhat slower latency, but acceptable for most use cases." ThunderPhone pricing.
Keep Plivo telephony and evaluate ThunderPhone when changing number providers is unnecessary. This separates the agent decision from the carrier decision, while leaving SIP configuration and billing verification with your team.
For wider comparisons, use the cheapest AI voice agent guide and voice AI pricing comparison. Build a complete budget with AI phone agent cost and the voice AI cost breakdown.
FAQ
Is ThunderPhone cheaper than Plivo Voice AI?
Spark has a lower headline engine rate, but the complete bill depends on configuration. Neither headline includes telephony. The pricing page describes Spark as "Somewhat slower latency, but acceptable for most use cases." ThunderPhone pricing. Plivo's LLM inclusion remains unconfirmed in the fetched pricing.
Can I keep my Plivo number with ThunderPhone?
Yes, Plivo numbers are supported through manual SIP. ThunderPhone charges no import or monthly fee for imported numbers. Plivo continues billing its carrier service; use the Plivo integration guide.
Does Plivo's agent price include telephony and the LLM?
Telephony is separate; LLM inclusion is unconfirmed. Plivo explicitly names voice models, transcription, and orchestration. That wording does not establish the LLM billing treatment. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10.
Does Plivo round calls to full minutes?
Its telephony documentation specifies a 60-second minimum and 1-minute increments. The fetched material does not establish agent-minute rounding. ThunderPhone engine metering does not override Plivo carrier billing. Plivo call documentation, accessed 2026-09-10.
Which platform has better language coverage and testing?
The evidence supports a tooling comparison, but no language-count ranking. Plivo lists simulation testing; ThunderPhone documents regression gates, CI execution, and live A/B experiments. Plivo's language count is not stated in the fetched pages. Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10.
Sources and freshness
- Plivo pricing, accessed 2026-09-10: agent rate, named inclusions, testing, and enterprise starting price.
- Plivo US voice pricing, accessed 2026-09-10: local inbound usage, SIP usage, and local number rental.
- Plivo call documentation, accessed 2026-09-10: telephony billing increments.
- ThunderPhone pricing, accessed 2026-09-10: engine pricing and published charges, as published on the ThunderPhone pricing page.
Every third-party figure on this page was checked against the linked first-party pages on September 10, 2026. It is documentation-based: no account, invoice, or live call was tested. Plivo LLM inclusion, agent metering, AI concurrency limits, language count, compliance, monitoring depth, and exact SIP-route charges remain unverified here.